RSS (Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh) | History and Philosophy of the RSS


The Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) is a Hindu nationalist, voluntary, missionary organization. It was founded in Nagpur on 27th September 1925, by Dr Keshav Baliram Hedgewar. The name of the organization was Sangh at the time of its establishment, but in 1926 they changed its name to Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh. The organization is founded on the idea of Hindu nationalism and Hindutva philosophy. Apart from this, RSS also works as a missionary for the Hindus and for charity as well. The main objective of RSS is only on Hindutva philosophy and its culture, sentiments of other religions are not given priority. Even and anon the work of the said organization torments the sentiments of other religions.

Member of RSS


The philosophy of the RSS is divided into four major categories i.e. Akhan Bharat, Integral Humanism, Hindutva and Hindu Rashtra.

Vision and mission

The supreme aim of the Sangh is to strengthen the Hindu religion and its culture in Hindustan (India). They believed that Hindu culture is the lifeblood of India. If India is to be protected then first people have to foster Hindu culture and its belief system. Therefore, it is the duty of every Hindu to make every effort to strengthen Hindu society. The Akhand Bharat or undivided India is also another mission for the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh. They believed that modern-day India, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, Myanmar, and Afghanistan are one nation. Their mission is to reunite an undivided India, not by force but through Hinduism.

Sangh Parivar

The Sangh Parivar is a conglomerate of organizations that were inspired by the policies and philosophy of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh. The organization inspired by the ideology of the RSS refers to it as a member of the Sangh Parivar. Generally, Hindutva based organizations within the Sangh Parivar are independent and have different policies and activities. Many Hindutva based organizations are directly or indirectly associated with the RSS. The organization acts as a parent body and advisor to its allied fraternity and periodically meets with the working committee of the RSS to get updates about their work or advice on various things. The RSS is an umbrella organization of about 35 Hindutva ideologue based organizations in India.

An affiliate organization

  1. Bharatiya Mazdoor Sangh
  2.  Seva Bharti
  3. Rashtriya Sevika Samiti
  4. Bharatiya Janata Party
  5. Vivekananda Kendra
  6. Dharam Jagaran Samiti
  7. Muslim Rashtriya Manch
  8. Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad
  9. Bajrang Dal
  10. Bharatiya Kisan Sangh
  11. Bharatiya Vichara Kendra
  12. Vanavasi Kalyan Ashram
  13. Vishwa Hindu Parishad
  14. Laghu Udyog Bharati
  15. Hindu Swayamsevak Sangh
  16. Saraswati Shishu Mandir and Vidya Bharati
  17. Swadeshi Jagaran Manch
  18. Vishwa Samvad Kendra

Organization structure
The organizational structure of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh is not in the public domain. Internal democracy is also not included in the organizational structure. The leader of the organization is not appointed by vote, they choose, its leaders through direct nomination.

Leadership Structure
1.Sarsanghcharak: Sarsanghcharak is like the President of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS). The senior-most and unmarried members of the organization are appointed by way of nomination for the Sarsanghcharak position.
2.Rashtriya Sarkaryavah: General Secretary
3.Sahkaryavahs: Joint secretary
4.Kshetriya Sahkaryavah: In charge of few selected zones
5.Sahkaryavah: Assistant of Kshetriya Sahkaryavah
6.Sahprant Pracharak: In charge of selected zones
7.Prant Pracharak: In charge of a few cities/ town
8.Mahanagar Karyavah: In charge of city

Relation with a political party

The BJP is one of the political arms of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh. There is no doubt that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) gets the support of the RSS. Although they are not evinced to the public as an affiliation with each other, in fact, they are intertwined. Prominent BJP leaders like the then Prime Minister of India Late Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Shri Ram Nath Kovind, Shri Lal Krishna Advani and Narendra Modi have once been members of the RSS.

Leave a Comment